MINNEAPOLIS - Osseo running back Bridgeport Tusler has been picked as the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year for high school football.

The award and the AP's all-state team were announced Tuesday.

Tusler rushed for 1,173 yards and 16 touchdowns and reached the end zone 23 times, including receiving, passing and returning. He also led all teams in the Twin Cities metro area with eight interceptions.

Tusler is hoping to play for his home-state university, but the Gophers haven't offered him a scholarship. North Dakota, Northern Iowa and South Dakota are other schools he's being recruited by, and recently Rutgers has shown interest. For now, Tusler will turn his attention to the Orioles' defending state champion basketball team. If he picks a smaller college, he'll consider playing both sports.

Recent winners of the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for prep football:

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, RB, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, QB, Mankato West

2010 - Reggie Gandy, RB, DeLaSalle

2009 - Seantrel Henderson, OL, Cretin-Derham Hall

2008 - James Peterson, QB, Blaine

2007 - Michael Floyd, WR, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Michael Floyd, WR, Cretin-Derham Hall

2005 - Jake Machacek, RB, Eastview

2004 - Nick Mertens, QB, East Grand Forks

2003 - Nathan Swift, RB, Hutchinson

2002 - John Majeski, RB, Hastings

2001 - Tyler Evans, RB, McLeod West

2000 - Joe Mauer, QB, Cretin-Derham Hall

1999 - Dominique Sims, DB, DeLaSalle

1998 - Thomas Tapeh, RB, St. Paul Johnson

1997 - Ryan Iversen, LB, Eden Prairie

1996 - Brian Day, RB, Brainerd

1995 - Kirk Midthun, QB, Triton

Read or Share this story: