ST. PAUL, Minn. - Miquel Fidler and Kieffer Bellows both scored twice and Edina earned its second straight Class 2A boys hockey title with an 8-2 win over Lakeville North Saturday night.

Casey Dornbach, Ben Foley, Parker Mismash and Cullen Munson also scored for Edina, the first school to win consecutive big-school titles since Bloomington Jefferson won three straight from 1992-94.

Max Johnson scored twice for Lakeville North (25-5-1).

The Hornets (26-4-1) scored three times in a 4-minute, 17-second span midway through the second period to take a 6-2 lead.

Fidler converted a behind-the-net pass from Dylan Malmquist, Mismash ripped a shot past Jake Oettinger after intercepting a clearing attempt and Bellows tipped in a pass from Alec Oesterreich.

Lakeville North had a 5-minute power-play spanning the second and third periods, but managed just two shots.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Read or Share this story: