ST. PAUL, Minn. - Teammates from the Grand Rapids boy's hockey team took home the state's top individual prizes on Sunday.

Forward Avery Peterson was named 2014's Mr. Hockey. The award is given annually to the state's top senior.

The top goalie was also from Grand Rapids High School. Hunter Shepard was awarded the Frank Brimsek Award.

Sunday's ceremony was held at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

Mr. Hockey nominees also included Duluth East defenseman Phil Beaulieu, Blaine forward Tyler Cline, Benilde-St. Margaret's forward Spencer Naas, Edina defenseman Tyler Nanne, Hill-Murray forward Mitch Slattery, Eden Prairie forward Steven Spinner, Eden Prairie defenseman Luc Snuggerud, Eagan defenseman Nick Wolff and Roseau forward Zach Yon.

The other goalie nominated was Mac Berglove of Elk River.

Read or Share this story: